University of Memphis Faculty Trio, Trio Etoiles (Three Stars), Performs Both Colored Stones for Solo Bassoon and Chansons De la Nature pour la Clarinette by Jenni Brandon.


The University of Memphis Faculty, the  Trio Etoiles (Three Stars) performs both Colored Stones for Solo Bassoon and Chansons De la Nature pour la Clarinette by Jenni Brandon on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 7:30PM at the Harris Concert Hall. The members of the Trio Etoiles are from The University of Memphis, Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music. They are Dr. Robyn Jones, clarinet,  Dr. Daryn Zubke, bassoon, and Dr. Jonathan Tsay, piano. The program for the recital is:

Colored Stones for solo bassoon (2014) Jenni Brandon

  1. Smoky Quartz
  2. Lapis Lazuli
  3. Tiger’s Eye

Daryn Zubke, bassoon

Chansons de la Nature pour la Clarinette (2003) Jenni Brandon

  1. Les Oiseaux
  2. Le Poisson
  3. Le Papillon
  4. Le Lièvre et La Tortue
  5. L’ Etoile
  6. Danzez!
  7. Le Serpent

Robyn Jones, clarinet


Hinterlands (2011) Jaren Hinckley

  1. Eas Coul Aulin (Sutherland, Scotland)
  2. Rocky Ridge (Wyoming, USA)
  3. Nordkapp (Finnmark, Norway)

Robyn Jones, clarinet

Daryn Zubke, bassoon

Johnathan Tsay, piano

Colored Stones for solo bassoon tells the story of three stones: smoky quartz, lapis lazuli, and tiger’s eye. Some cultures and spiritual practices believe these stones have powerful qualities such as the ability to heal, protect, and offer spiritual guidance. The bassoon explores these beautiful stones’ unique qualities.

It is an honor to be chosen as the winner of the 2014 Bassoon Chamber Music Composition Competition and to have this work premiered by Susan Nelson.

This work is available for purchase through Imagine Music Publishing.

Chansons de la Nature pour la Clarinette, tells a story about nature as told by the clarinet’s agile voice. The French titles and basis of the pieces were inspired by the lyrical and pastoral quality of the French language and the images it invokes. The piece is also inspired by the images presented in Aesop’s fables (and Jean de la Fontain’s retelling of them); in particular, the movement “Le Lièvre et la Tortue” tells of the slow tortoise beating the fast hare with his patience and determination. Both creatures are represented in this movement, from the plodding of the tortoise to the quick movements of the hare.

The other movements also represent a variety of characters and situations from these famous fables. “Le Poisson” darts, “Le Papillon” flutters and floats, “L’étoile” shimmers in the night sky, nature ‘dances’, and “Le Serpent” is slippery and quick.  Each movement is short, but just long enough to evoke a story and create a ‘song of nature’ for the clarinet.

This work appears on Jenni’s CD Songs Of California: Music For Winds And Piano. Carrie RavenStem performed Chansons de la Nature pour la Clarinette during the 2020 Woodwind Fest.

Chansons de la Nature pour la Clarinette sheet music is available at Chansons de la nature pour la clarinette – solo B-flat clarinet sheet music (