The United States Coast Guard Band Performs Jenni Brandon’s Double Concerto for Oboe and Bassoon with Wind Symphony


double concerto oboe bassoonThe United States Coast Guard Band, under the direction of Assistant Director CWO Jeffrey Spenner, performs Jenni Brandon’s “Double Concerto for Oboe and Bassoon with Wind Symphony” on Sunday, March 15, 2020 2:00 PM. The performance is titled Fresh Voices and the location is Leamy Concert Hall, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, 15 Mohegan Ave., New London, CT 06320. Soloists for the Fresh Voices Concert are Briana Tarby, oboe and Brooke Allen, bassoon.

The United States Coast Guard Band is the premier band representing the United States Coast Guard and the Department of Homeland Security. The 55-member ensemble has performed at some of the most prestigious venues in the nation, including the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Lincoln Center, and Carnegie Hall. The Band also has a rich history of performing internationally. Based at the US Coast Guard Academy in New London, Connecticut, the Coast Guard Band frequently appears in Washington, DC, at presidential and cabinet level functions on formal and informal occasions.

A number of notable vocal artists have appeared with the Coast Guard Band, including Placido Domingo, Marilyn Horne, B.B. King, Elizabeth Futral, Andy Williams, Roberta Flack, Lee Greenwood, Lorrie Morgan, Shirley Jones, and the Boys Choir of Harlem.

The United States Coast Guard Band was organized in March 1925 with the assistance of Lt. Charles Benter, leader of the United States Navy Band; Dr. Walter Damrosch, conductor of the New York Philharmonic; and “American March King” John Philip Sousa, former director of the United States Marine Band.

Jenni Brandon’s “Double Concerto for Oboe and Bassoon with Wind Symphony tells the story of our Galaxy, of the great unknown and what lies beyond, and where we belong within this vastness of space. The soloists and the ensemble paint a picture of this great mystery of the universe, taking us on a journey through the Spiral Galaxy, the Milky Way, and onto our own arm in the galaxy, the Orion Spur, where we dance the waltz of the Blue Planet. Being pulled toward the Supermassive Black hole, the djembe lends a rhythmic background of mystery to this journey. The bassoon, then joined by the solo oboe, begins to tell us a story of Dark Matter, “…an elementary particle that pervades the universe.” We then travel to the place where stars are born in “The Orion Nebula,” quoting Carl Sagen from his book Cosmos that, “we are made of star-stuff.” Finally, we begin to leave the orion nebula to continue our journey again through the spiral galaxy, exploring the vastness of space as thematic material returns to carry us on this ever-continuing journey of exploration.

It was an honor to write this work for Scott Pool and to have him premiere it with Rogene Russell on oboe and the University of Texas at Arlington Wind Symphony under the direction of Doug Stotter in February 2013. It is a thrill to have the European premiere of this work given by the Banda Simfònica Municipal de Madrid under the direction of Rafael Sanz–Espert with Víctor M. Ánchel, oboe and Enrique Abargues, bassoon.

This work is in one movement and is approximately 18 minutes.

  1. The Spiral Galaxy
    II. Travelling through the Milky Way
    III.  The Orion Spur: The Blue Planet Waltz
    IV. Supermassive Black Hole: Falling into the abyss…
    V. Dark Matter: “…an elementary particle that pervades the universe
    VI. The Orion Nebula: “We are made of star-stuff.”
    …Flying through the Spiral Galaxy

Jenni Brandon’s Double Concerto for Oboe and Bassoon with Wind Symphony is available for purchase on Jenni Brandon’s web site at

Version for Oboe, Bassoon, piano, and optional percussion also available